NDP leadership race

Jagmeet Singh elected as federal NDP leader

Ontario MPP achieves victory on first ballot
Photo: Caribb

Jagmeet Singh, often perceived as the frontrunner in the federal New Democratic Party's leadership race, was elected on the first ballot Sunday afternoon, concluding a leadership race initiated after party delegates lost confidence in Thomas Mulcair.

Your ad here
Don't like ads?
Automated ads help us pay our journalists, servers, and team. Support us by becoming a member today to hide all automated ads:
Become a member

Throughout the race, Singh had drawn attention for what seemed like a better ability to attract new party members and had long commanded a stronger media presence than did other candidates.

The announcement was made at the Westin Harbour Castle in Toronto. Singh's vote count (35,266) is sufficient to avoid subsequent ballots and significantly more than that achieved by Charlie Angus (12,705), typically regarded as his most serious competition. Manitoba MP Niki Ashton, who had sought to reinvigorate the party's left, obtained 11,374 votes, while Quebec MP Guy Caron, who had centred his campaign on a basic income proposal, achieved 6,164 percent of votes.

"We have a team across the country.... This is not my victory, this is all of your victory," Singh said in his acceptance remarks, thanking opponents, party members, and his family. "It's an incredibly profound honour. Thank you."

Singh's campaign seemed to generate notable buzz among young voters and within Canada's Sikh and South Asian communities, highlighting issues like income security, tax fairness and insecure work. His victory was widely anticipated, though a first ballot win was far from certain.

More coverage to follow.

You might also be interested in...
Canada should give Black communities $450 million — not the Kielburgers
Hawa Y. Mire
July 6, 2020
Investigation: Montreal journalists face police intimidation, brutality when reporting at protests
Miriam Lafontaine
June 2, 2020
Ricochet’s Jerome Turner wins major journalism award for Wet’suwet’en coverage
May 31, 2020